Flower Friday

The Flower Friday twist is B. 

B is for blip
B is for BikerBear the wonderful host of Flower Friday
B is for Battle of the Somme - 100th anniversary today
B is for blue - Cornflower Blue

I took this photo of a cornflower in my garden as it was blue so it fitted in with the B twist.  However I had a vague idea that the cornflower was in some way connected to the war.  So I did a bit of checking and I found out that the cornflower is the flower of remembrance in France in the same way as the poppy is the flower of remembrance in this country.  As the poppy grew in terrible conditions so did the cornflower - in the trenches as well as in what was left of the fields.  Both flowers reminded the troops that there was life away from the battlefield.

The weather this morning and early afternoon was lovely - warm and sunny.  The cats enjoyed some time outside in their enclosure.  However it was back to rain by late afternoon and this evening.

I have been to the Metrocentre for a mooch around the shops.  Lots of shops had a Sale on but even though I tried a few things on I didn't get anything.

Late blip as I have been watching the football on TV.  Great match.  Wales 3 Belgium 1.  Wales are through to the semi finals of Euro 16.  Unbelievable - and wonderful.

Steps today - 7,102

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.