Night Poppies

Another even longer day on the allotment! Another bed created from moving the open square compost bin holding leaf mulch. What wonderfully rich soil I now have - after picking out the brittle and thready nettle roots that were underneath! Now my Hardy Kiwi fruit is in the bed and will hopefully climb up the wire fence! 
I stopped for  a cup of tea twice with my fellow Friday Allotmenteer and the Midnight Gardener - he always refers to me as "Maid" which tickles me! He nearly called me something else when I nearly trod on his baby leeks! Luckily I missed them and later he gave me a load he had no room for. 
The thing about an allotment / garden, is that you can always see something to do. It's rather like housework only much more pleasurable doing it as well as looking at it once done!   I intended to leave several times but always got waylaid by something! When it started to rain heavily I determinedly packed up, only for it to then stop so back to the plot I went to cover my narrow strip between my current worked allotment and my sadly neglected and overgrown one! 
Once home I intended to sit down with an espresso and rest. But my eye was caught by my Plumbago blocking my view and light into the conservatory - so I swapped it's position with my Ginger plant, which given another month will be just as blocking! These two plants, along with my Bird of Paradiseand Bougainvillea, are all taller and wider than me and take up most of the conservatory! But they have such beautiful flowers!
After a nice M&S japanese steamed dumplings and chips (!) it was time to go back to the plot. I had been blown away by all the beautiful Poppy blips so thought I'd have a go at taking them in the dark! Sadly on arrival Nutmeg was fluid filled again and once more I held her upside down and it just poured out. I just want her to die peacefully but if she is still alive Sunday I will call Scooby to help her on her way. Scooby lives in the village and that is what he is called - no idea why! 
So time to play with the poppies - what fun that was! A few more here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.