Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Large Skipper

This is tough weather for butterflies. There was some sunshine this morning at Bookham Common, allowing a brief respite for this Large Skipper on a fresh frond of bracken before the deluge around lunchtime. But it was cold and windy. It's a shame because the fritillaries and white admirals are pristine just now. There was one spotting of a Purple Emperor I heard of, but not by us. Still time, however. I suspect the body clocks of some specimens are allowing their pupa a lie-in. I don't blame them.

This is positively my last blog on the European Referendum - until the next one, but really it's good to get away from all the news at least for a weekend.

The dragonfly in the extra pic is, I think, a black-tailed skimmer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.