gavinclinch

By gavinclinch

He Wishes For The Cloths Of Heaven

This artwork sits on a building in Sligo that was once owned by William Pollexfen. Pollexfen was the maternal grandfather of W. B. Yeats. The building was the offices of the family firm, the Pollexfen Shipping Line. Pollexfen was able to observe his ships entering and leaving nearby Sligo harbour from a rooftop lookout. 

The text in the artwork is Yeats' poem:

Had I the heavens' embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams. 

W.B. Yeats

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.