Book 5 complete!

Wainwright's fifth book was on the Northern fells, and today I climbed the 2264' high Great Calva to achieve my 167th Wainwright and completed that book. I was really taken by the strange cairn on top which featured what looked like a hoe and pitchfork, though I think it's actually a hoe and a piece of bent fence. The view down the valley in the distance is looking down towards Thirlmere. Great Calva is the triangular peak you see between Skiddaw and Blencathra as you drive up the A591 towards Keswick.

A little overcast, really cold at times, and pretty windy - feels like I brought the Iceland weather back with me. Still feels wonderful to be out on the Lakeland Fells again - I really miss them when I'm away.

Please look large on Black

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.