Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Sweet peas in the sunshine

I was awake shortly before 3 am this morning and did not go back to sleep, so at around 4 am I was up and writing some thoughts on that Olympic opening ceremony. I downloaded the music from the programme on to my iPod and I've been particularly enjoying listening to the Underworld tracks. I think my favourite from the whole dramaturgy (thank you Boris Johnson for this word) that I know will stay with me for the rest of the summer is this one: Caliban's Dream. It's already giving me goosepimples.

So I cast around the garden looking for something light to reflect the music and then did something pretty silly, going behind these sweet peas to photograph them against the sun. It's one thing to do this with a tree late in the afternoon but quite another with delicate petals in the early afternoon. I still have a blurry right eye and hope I haven't done any lasting damage. It was a really dumb thing to do and I didn't even use that image.

Any regular visitors to this humble blip abode will know that I'd mentioned once or twice being asked to cover the Olympic sailing for a well known pink newspaper. Well it all ended in tears when we couldn't agree terms. I'm sad about it but at least it means I can get back to watching the Olympics on TV my book which has been neglected these past months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.