Chasewater Country Park.

I think we might have had quite a bit of rain lately, the water in the lake was higher than I have ever seen it.  There were lots of duck families about today, but we were wondering how many nests had been washed away.  I least two Coots nests and two Grebe nests were under water that we know of.  There was a competition between a pair of Grebes and a pair of Coots for a nest in the reeds  The Grebes waited until the Coot left the nest and then jumped in- picture top right -.  ( whose it was originally I don't know  It was every duck for hi,self I think.)  I couldn't resist the huddle of Mallards ducklings on the path guarded by the adults - picture bottom right .  A family with a dog walked passed and the Mallards quickly herded their brood into the water.
Best viewed large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.