Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Gybe Talkin'

3rd sailing lesson today... Mrs G and I were sent out on a yacht by ourselves. Despite feeling like we didn't have a clue, we must have been ready, because we went out and sailed around for a couple of hours, tacked back and forth and made it back to the jetty in one, dry, piece. Result!

There were one or two questionable moments of course. One involved the boat at a very sudden and strange angle, followed by a very strange and sudden realisation that we might be going for a swim. But... we managed to get ourselves sorted and avoided reaching the capsize module of the course ahead of time.

Then there was the moment when something happened, not quite sure what, but it resulted in Mrs G in a precarious position (on her back) in the middle of the boat. All part of the fun. (Well I laughed anyway.)

And then there was also the moment that I sailed the yacht into the trees at the side of the reservoir. More fun. (Well Mrs G laughed anyway.)

But mostly it was all plain sailing... and here's a pic of Mrs G in full blown confident sailor mode to prove it. (If I ever reach the point where I can get a calm, relaxed expression like that, and not the slightly panicked and overwhelmingly confused expression I have when at the helm, I shall dutifully post a sailor selfie of my own.)

Next week we learn how to do an intentional gybe, not the unintentional ones we did today. If anything is going to put us in the drink that will be it. Wish us luck ;)

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.