A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

93rd

I went to the local cemetery where the village war memorial is to mark what would've been my Great Uncle's 93rd. Ive blipped a number of times about him in recent years, having been rather touched by the stories expressed so ardently by my Grandma and Great Aunty whom are both so dearly proud of their fallen Brother.

It is so very sad that he never survived WWII, especially so when you consider if he'd returned from what was his final mission, he would have immediatly returned home and likely never have gone out to an arena again with the war shortly to end. 

My Grandma tells me he was excellent with maps and thus he became a navigator. While he sadly didn't survive to have his own children or grandchildren it is nice to think a little bit of Jack might live on in us; For example I love maps and although perhaps tenuous there seems no other reason for my interest to be sparked in them. I like to think Jack's talents, his aptitude, skills and dedication ( just a little bit of ) is in me and its driving my passions today. Thinking about it, that has to be the best way for all our lost to live on in us.

Happy Birthday Jack, thanks to your sisters we can take pride in you and everything you were and your memory will live on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.