Recalculating

First, we went to a place I’ve been wanting to photograph for a while. A gorgeous day for it. Got there and found I’d forgotten my camera. Deep breath. ‘At least I have my phone.’ Then, after one picture, my phone ran out of charge. Another deep breath. ‘I can come back another time. And a walk without a camera is still a walk.’
 
Later, back at son’s house, we decided that before we left for cloudy Oxford so that I could do the work I needed to do this afternoon, we’d go for a quick walk in the Bristol sun in a wood near his home. I put my phone on charge and picked up my camera.
 
45 minutes later we were back at son’s house to collect our things and leave and… he’d lost his door key. Housemate one answered the phone – on his way to London. Housemate two – in London. Housemate three – out climbing in South Wales and not back till 9pm. Deep breath.
 
Our attempts at breaking in failed. Deeper breath.
 
'OK, let’s get some perspective: we’re together, it’s sunny, we’re in an interesting place. We may be on our way out of the EU but we’re not in Istanbul or Syria and the work can wait.'
 
Down in the harbour we bought a picnic and ate it in a park under a tree filled with dangling shoes. In a different park further up the hill we found a sculpture made of mirrors (extra). And walking back, much later, the setting sun was turning the buildings into moiré silk as seagulls wheeled round them (extra).
 
On our way home, signs told us part of the motorway ahead was closed. The satnav on my overcharged phone juddered for a moment then recalculated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.