Face To Face

The lavender plant next to the lemon tree surprised us by turning out to be such a big full plant--a huge sprawling snackbar for several kinds of bees, spiders and moths. Today there was a handful of bright orange skippers that contrasted nicely with the purple flowers, and this one spotted moth that I've never seen before. They're quick hoppy little things, not caring at all how long it takes me to refocus the camera. I was trying for the interesting spotted wing pattern, but never got the right angle. It's wonderful when the highlight of our day is fifteen minutes spent watching insects in the backyard. 

I'm not a complete idler though: lately I've been walking between 2 and 3 miles every morning before breakfast. It's the first time I ever remember feeling that exercise feels good. Anything I've done in the past was just to get it done, but suddenly I am intrigued by the sense of actually inhabiting this body. I feel awfully silly saying these things, but it does feel like I've discovered something new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.