Winter

Winter has hit with some force today, and seeing that I had to take the car in for an oil leak to be fixed, I was not looking forward to the journey home on public transport.

But the garage, bless their hearts, sent a young man to take me to the nearest station, in my own car, and a train came along almost straight away, and I was home again within 35 minutes.  Golly I was happy.

I don 't know about anyone else, but I do get a certain frisson of delight when I am alone on a train, and we go over a level crossing and I see the traffic banked up for metres - just for me!  I was going home, not into town, that's why the train was empty.

And it is a lovely trip, through bush and deep gullies.  You wouldn't think we were travelling through suburbs.  There's barely a house to be seen once you get through the suburbs on the plain - we live in the foothills, and even on an evil night like tonight, it's a pretty special place.

Oh, the image!  Right.  It's the emerging flower on one of the succulents I have in a pot right outside my office window.  A quick snap early and I was done.  No way was I going to spend more time outside that I absolutely had to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.