Ystumtuen

After seeing the Red Kites feed at Nant yr Eirian (also a great spot for mountain biking and I did feel a sense of loss...!) we drove over the hill to look at the wind turbines and the village of Ystumtuen.

Ystumtuen was once populated by people working on the lead mines but as they became uneconomic people moved away. It was re-populated by people enjoying alternative lifestyles in the 70's - I think we can call them hippies.. It's population is relatively stable now.

Mid Wales has a lot of people who have chosen an alternative lifestyle and by and large everyone seems to rub along.

Anyway, the windfarms? I quite like them so have the polar opposite view to my father who really isn't a big fan. There are many different strands to the debate. Perhaps offshore provides a more acceptable solution?

This part of Mid Wales is seldom visited. People drive through to the coast but spend little time on the way. They are missing out on some splendid isolation. Not everyone longs for that though, do they?

I could quite happily sit and look at this view all day... Well, at least an hour. I might fall asleep in the heather for some of this time..

Continuing apologies for a lack of reciprocity. I will make a good effort this week to look at all your wonderful journals. I am quite nosey as to how everyone else is making use of this fine weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.