Daily Dalliance

By Knitty

Robin Hoods Bay

It was so incredibly busy! Every time I saw a view that I fancied taking a shot at, a whole drove of folk would decide to stroll nonchalantly in my way and I ended up making several tries. Thank heaven for digital photography!

Memo to me - I will never venture into England during their high holiday season again!

As for Robin Hood's Bay - it is so picturesque, no wonder it is so popular. Vehicular traffic is prohibited and you have to leave your car in the village of Fylingdales at the top of the cliff, then walk down the extremely steep hill to the village below. On the day we were there, the car park was full and we had to leave the car at the old station, further up the hill. These car parks are expensive to use, but there is no alternative. The main street leads down to the harbour and thence to the beach. There, the many rock-pools are attractive to anyone with an interest in maritime creatures. On the way back up the hill, we passed 3 donkeys being taken to the beach to provide donkey rides for the younger tourists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.