Dougie

Can you not just picture Dougie as a steam engine driver? What a wonderful fellow. 

We often pass each other on a narrow path under the trees and swap hellos as I encourage CJ to ignore his dog. Today, we came across each other in an open field in the sunshine and it just felt right to stop and chat. Even Little Dog had a well-mannered greeting for Cleo before they both lay down in the sunshine together.

We might have a property boom going on soon as I quickly found myself agreeing that this rickety summerhouse would be an ideal place to live given a water supply and power. "Bloody health and safety!" he said.  Apparently, they used to be all over the place around here and the local farm sold ice cream, lemonade and cakes. I wish it did now!

I caught up with Dougie again after I'd completed my loop and discovered that he is still in the house he was born in. We were now walking the same way so I enjoyed his company on the way back home.

Dougie told me about a big old house that stood where five huge properties now stand and that they owned a bull farm opposite. The still rather large house at the end of the same lane was the lodge for it.

After asking him what he used to do, he told me about his career as an engine driver and the years he spent travelling on the Settle-Carlisle line (a train ride must for everyone, I think.) As technology moved on, he retrained on diesel and then electric. Sadly, despite them being kept on for a while, he lost the company of the fireman and someone else (can't remember what job that was) because they were no longer required.  It was interesting to hear his story and consider how an aspect of technology changes your job satisfaction even if you keep your job in a much cleaner environment.

And now I'm sitting on a train listening to some older ladies horrified at the London driverless trains!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.