Who would have thought!

As a memorial to King George V after his death in 1936, a foundation was established to give capital grants to towns and villages for the provision of playing fields: "any open space used for the purpose of outdoor games, sports and pastimes." All sites were to be called 'King George’s Field' and distinguished by heraldic panels that were usually displayed at a specially designed entrance. 471 schemes in the UK received grants from the Foundation. In 1965 the responsibility for establishing and preserving King George's Fields passed to the National Playing Fields Association.
 
Although I have passed these gates many, many times and walked through the playing field to the river on many occasions, I had no idea how Appleby got the field. Now I do. (Most of the field and playground that you can see in the picture were underwater when the river flooded in the winter.)
  
The gates are also opposite where I go to the dentist – I went today for the first of two sessions to sort out a broken tooth. What a wonderful dentist I have . . . thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.