killyb

By endorfin

slow train coming

Out on the bike first thing this morning and enjoying the tracks which had finally dried out after all the recent rains.

But around an hour in, I got a puncture, just as I came into what was left of this old disused railway station.

I proceeded to change the inner tube only to find that the old style wide valve on the tube would not fit through the hole on the wheel rim.

I should have been annoyed and frustrated at the stupidity of the situation.But I was actually pretty calm about it all and in a way was just enjoying the isolation and quiet on what must at one time have been a bustling little station.

Ghostly in a way, and I half expected to see a slow train coming around the bend as I sat there wondering what to do.

The train didn't appear but a lone runner did and she told me the shortest route to get back to the road.

Problem solved and I called Terry who came to my rescue and drove me and the bike home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.