Young Farmer of the Year

Dashed into Timaru this afternoon to see my grandson(with the big smile) marching in the parade to start the big event of the N Z young farmer of the year 2016. Alongside this event is the Agri Kids and The Agri Teens.
My Grandson is in the Agri Teens having won the final in his area and now have a competition a;ll day tomorrow against other school teams from all around NZ. They were encouraged to dress up for the parade but him and his mate chose just to wear school uniform and they looked very smart. Thinking they are going to be putting in a fence post as had to bring a hammer a spade and a chisel with them. It is huge for Timaru to be hosting it, they are expecting up to a 1000 people at the final on Sat Night. it finishes with a quiz on farming and general knowledge and will be broadcast live on TV. The winner gets many thousands of dollars worth of prizes. I dont think there are any prizes attached to the junior event.
 Wish I was going to be here to see them but leave early in  the morning for a four day photography trip to the West Coast. Really looking forward to it as going to an area I have never been to, Lake Brunner,
Will hopefully put images up but wont have time for commenting while I am away. Still have to pack all my camera gear. Going away in winter you have to pack so much gear.
Have a great weekend . I plan to may even get to partake of a dram before dinner. Nice to relax with friends while away like that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.