as sailors look to stars

By luniss

"the long tall grass of summer"

In the long, tall grass of summer,
What did we know? What did we think?
There was nothing there to warn us,
Our life was in bloom. We were just looking out the window for a sign.
And I will love you 'til I die, won't question it or wonder why the earth turns as it does,
As it does.

Oh, the heart of man is heartless.
And people don't know all of the beauty and the ... they can't let go
But I will love you 'til I die. Won't question it or wonder why the earth turns as it does.
Yes, I will love you 'til I die. Won't question it or wonder why the earth turns as it does.

See, you can't go back, no, you can't go back 'cause you can't be sure if you get here.
So, we don't go back, no, we don't go back.
Just be thankful for what we have today.
Just be thankful for what we have today.

I will love you 'til I die. Won't question it or wonder why the earth turns as it does.
Yes, I will love you 'til I die. Won't question it or wonder why the earth turns as it does,
As it does.
In the long, tall grass of summer.


- Nerina Pallot (The Graduate)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.