Midsummer in New England

Daylilies

new england
in midsummer
where lilies
sway on budded
stems with orange
blooms that last
just one sweet day
to line the lanes 
and blanket fields
or gather round
pine needled paths
that lead us quietly
on our way



My photograph today reminded me of James, a lovely man, our painting studio mate of more than a dozen years. He was a master of the sunlit path, skillfully painted in brilliant oils with dappled light. We all learned of his death last Friday after a short illness. Something we expected, but were crushed to hear. James was a friend,  a gentleman, a scholar who wrestled daily with a persistent stutter that never held him back. 88 years young, my world is much diminished by his loss. My extra photo today is a collage with some of my favorite photographs of James.


For the Record
This day came in humid with building heat. I tempted the chipmunks with cherries, but the body language here says.."where are the peanuts??"


One hand dealing with a cranky back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.