Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Spiders like corners...

...but you want it all.

That lyric is from one of my favourite ever songs, "Nite & Fog" by the incomparable Mercury Rev.

I hope you see your ship come in
May it find you and never lose its way
But I would make a poor captain
Nite and fog are my days

Vampires want darkness
Monsters want souls
Spiders want corners
But you want it all


This blip was a clumsy way to shoehorn that lyric into this entry. To be honest, it was another rushed blip as I played cricket today as well.

Boy and do I suffer; knees and ankles agony after bowling eight overs and a general malaise after succumbing to mild sunstroke again. It is a horrible feeling, sweating yet cold, shivering, feeling sick and throwing up. I wear a cap and slap on the factor 30 and still I get it.

I've decided the dehydration caused by legging it round like a tit on Friday eve, foll0wed by two days of cricket and simply not enough water on board (including a trip to the pub inbetween) is the most likely culprit! I religiously drink four or five litres of water a day during the week and not keeping up when I really need it flattens me.

Anyway; to cut short a ramble, this is my corner in the home changing room at the Newland SCG. The big bag on the right contains batting pads, gloves, box, one bat(!), thigh-pad, inner thigh pad, gumshield, jumper and spare whites - it stays there all the time, only leaving to accompany me to games (along with that bat on the left - my new one, and it pings).

Cricket shoes, trainers and balls are down behind the duffel bag and the courier bag has within it cameras and general shit (scorebook, pens, first aid stuff, bottle tops for ball tampering).

The daysack is for all the kit I wear in a game that needs to go home for washing.

I think you'll agree it's good system!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.