Free Spirit

By StephyJay

Musbury church war memorial

After visiting the Somme memorial in Exeter, I purchased one of the figurines for a named soldier who was ageless with very few details. The one I chose has one of my ancestral names of Mitchell with a Devonshire regiment link, which seemed apt.

The email from the charity asked if I was able to assist in supplying more information by researching my chosen soldier for their memorial database.

After some research into the early hours I discovered he was only 21 when he died, lived in nearby Musbury at Waterford farm and was the youngest of 11 children.
We visited the church at Musbury today where there is a memorial to him and other local fallen soldiers.

A very poignant moment in thinking what a beautiful place he left behind to head into such horror, without knowing he would not return.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.