A real rarity!

When I saw this little moth was sitting at the bottom of my moth trap this morning I was really excited! It is quite distinctive, and I remembered one being presented to me when I was visiting Sandwich bay last year carefully stowed in a glass tube so it couldn't escape!
Spurred on by the fact that could only mean it was something very nice I looked it up immediately. and it is very nice indeed!
This is Evergistis limbata and the Sussex moth group (which has it as it's logo ) has this to say about it
National Status: Nationally Scarce B
Resident and suspected occasional immigrant. The species usually occurs singly, occasionally sparingly, in a wide range of habitats, although it is sometimes fairly common at Walberton. Generally double-brooded flying mainly from early June to late July, sometimes from late May, and again from mid August to mid September, occasionally to early October. An infrequent partial third emergence may be indicated by a sighting made on November 11th 2003 at Portslade. Larvae feed on the leaves of hedge mustard. (Pratt, 2011).
I was just a little excited! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.