Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Pacific Northwest at Her finest

We took a trip east today to Maryhill Museum, a fascinating place plunked in the middle of the Washington desert just across the Columbia River from Oregon. Kendall came with us and we had a fabulous time together exploring, chatting and wandering through the museum and grounds. The views are exquisite - that's Mt. Hood in the distance, the Columbia River below, vineyards and the rolling desert hills. As you can see, the day was glorious; it can get quite hot over there, but we were blessed with moderate temps and brisk breezes, which brought out the windsurfers on the river.

I was so grateful that the museum was fully accessible; I was able to use my scooter and had a much more enjoyable visit than I would have if I'd had to walk it all. (As it is, I'm pretty exhausted tonight and don't have it in me to write much about the museum history, which is pretty interesting; maybe Kendall will!) They have an eclectic collection of paintings, sculptures, Native American art and artifacts and one of my favorite exhibits, the Théâtre de la Mode, fashion dioramas from the 1940s.

Before we left the area, we visited Stonehenge Memorial - a WWI memorial fashioned after the original Stonehenge, though with a much more manufactured feel to it.

Thanks for joining us, Kendall, you're a great adventure partner!

Worth a look large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.