Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Red Reflections

Early morning sky reflected in the lake at Beakensdyk, Bakkeveen, Frisia, The Netherlands.

Last Sunday, we were walking past this small lake near our campsite. It was morning, not very early, and when I looked at the lake I noticed it had potential: there were some tree trunks laying around that would make excellent foreground objects. I decided I would return there later, before sunrise.

Last night the weather forecast looked quite good and I decided to set the alarm at silly 'o clock (honestly, getting out at 4.50?) and walk to the scene which is not far from our campsite. When I arrived, there was a nice low mist over the water and once the sun, still below the horizon, started colouring the clouds it was showtime! I also took some shots after sunrise, when the trees on the other side of the lake were catching the first sunshine of the day. These were also quite nice, but then the drama in the sky was gone and I prefer this one.

In a couple of hours we will be taking the girls on a trip in a covered wagon; I know they will love it. But for now: breakfast! Have a great day all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.