Bright lights in a dark corner

I can see that this salvia is set to become a favourite. 

It was planted a few weeks ago, and frustratingly, I can't find my garden diary entry, so can't give you the cultivar.  It has - as you can see - bright red flowers, a black calyx (or as near to black as dammit) and beautiful  lime green foliage.  I'm so surprised to see it flowering already in the dead of winter.  I've got it at the edge of the canopy of the oak tree, so hope it gets enough light in summer.  And it's tight against the fence - can't wait for it to grow up.

I could have got a much better image, but rain dripping down one's neck isn't conducive to elaborate framing.

The "event" from yesterday hasn't quite started yet, but it's foggy and raining, and the wind is building up.  We're quite safe, set high almost at the top of the hill.  Apart from the dreariness of it all, that's not a lot that can happen to us.

EDIT:  It'sSalvia Gesneriiflora "Tequila"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.