Purko

By Purko

Gudbrandsdalsost

This is to Norway, as Fish & Chips is to Britain. Also called Brunost (Brown cheese) or mysost (Whey cheese).
I've decided to do my best to buy the Norwegian foodstuff whilst here, this helps me learn about their culture, and also and primarily, it's cheeper than the imported food.
A friend in the club recommended I buy some brown cheese and tell him what I thought of it. It's not really cheese at all, as it isn't fermented. It is made by boiling whey, milk, (and cream) together until the water evaporates. This turns the sugar to caramel. The final product is packaged and sold like cheese, however it is more like a rich, sweet caramel than cheese. Typically eaten on bread, in sandwhiches or biscuits. Some say it's like marmite, you either love it or you hate it... I'm a fan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.