Two loops

With a little time to spare before meeting Liz for a ride, I headed out a little earlier than necessary to enjoy a bit of sunshine before the showers that were expected during our ride set in.  

I headed over the Cow & Calf into Ilkley and then debated whether to head up Askwith or not.  I knew how long it would take to ascend as I did it with Rich only a couple of days ago but I wasn't sure how long the descent into Otley would take.  

Answer:  Longer than I thought!  

I was only a couple of minutes late and should probably have taken on a Chris Froome stylie to be on time but I'd more than likely have become wedged under the seat knowing me.   I have noted that they manage to go faster on the flat than I can go full speed downhill.  

We had a great ride and Liz's first of the 100 Classic Climbs since her cancer treatment a couple of years ago - she was chuffed with that.  She's only been out on her bike again a handful of times recently and, true to form, is picking up bike fitness rapidly.

This is the expansive view from the top.
And, despite those clouds, we didn't get wet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.