River Spey 10km swim

I did it! Something odd happened with my goggles so I had very swollen eyes, but all fine now...

Delighted with the swim. My aims were to finish and not to be last. Anything under 4 hours (time I would take in the pool) was a bonus and no doubt thanks to the river's flow. It seems the swim was actually somewhat longer than 10km and I finished in 3 hours 25 mins and could have kept on going. Result!

The starting point was in a field under the A9 bridge at Kingussie. As we waited there were 4 rather inquisitive horses that were wandering around! One of our pals thought someone was helping zip up his wetsuit but it was a horse nuzzling the back of his neck.

Then a lovely dinner out with the others and our supporting group with a few beers and lots of laughs. And it was still light when we headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.