A late emergency blip with the garden being my usual fallback.


Recently I noticed a house with a huge patch of yellow biting stonecrop growing on a modern house roof.  Traditionally it meant that it would ward off evil spirits, witches and lightning.
It is also called wall pepper (sedum acre) as it has a peppery taste but this is not recommended as it can induce vomiting, and can sometimes be found on walls, rocks, shingle or other dry places with thin soils.  The low growing plant has bright yellow flowers in June and July with succulent leaves with even a tiny piece quickly developing into a plant.  My small patch in the garden has spread so rapidly that now it is becoming invasive so I’m having to remove it.  Fortunately I’m not superstitious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.