Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Cracks, cracks and more cracks!!!

     Managed to get back into the workshop and make a start on a  commission I am currently doing, but am sad to say that this piece of Oak is not up to the turning I want to achieve on it.
     As you can see I have done some turning on it, but the cracks remain and that is mainly due to the moisture in the wood. It is dry where I have been turning, but it is further in the piece and I will NOT do anymore on this as it is to dangerous, in case it splits and flies off the lathe whilst turning. I do not want to be on the receiving end of it!!!
     I will have to cut my losses and get another piece of Oak and start again. I am in the process of obtaining a piece from another supplier,
annoying, but I value safety more than anything else.
I hope you have all had a great weekend and it was a great weekend for sport.

Hope you are all well. Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.