Apricot scones

Today's the day ........................... for temperature control

I had a new fan oven installed today.

The old one had eventually given up the ghost - although I have to say that it must have been around fifteen years old which I suppose is not bad going.  It took me most of the fifteen years to get used to it - because it always was like cooking in the middle of the Sahara desert.  I had to immediately take off at least 20 degrees from the suggested cooking temperature of any recipe - and always cook it for less time, usually with a bit of foil on the top.  But you get used to anything in time - and it was certainly brilliant at cooking things like Yorkshire pud or scones that you want to rise quickly and just get nicely browned on top.

These apricot scones were the first thing I baked in my new oven.  They needed an extra five minutes from what I have been used to doing.  Ah well - in another fifteen years - I should have got it cracked ......................?!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.