Wilkommen

This conference is following a familiar pattern: interesting plenary, only stream of interest started later so go to a session of another which might be interesting but is incomprehensible. End up having a very valuable half-hour chat with someone I know who is also a refugee from the dearth of interesting talks. Eventually our stream starts with a dull talk from someone good, some talks I understand but are very poor and then an unexpectedly excellent presentation covering several bits of work I'd head of vaguely and giving me a new person to talk to later. Good food but indifferent beer at the welcome event where I discussed Brexit with a Russian, a German and a Frenchwoman.

Earlier I'd been disappointed that my walk to the venue was round the botanical gardens rather than through it: they hadn't opened and will cost me €6 when I get the chance to go. We're spoiled in Edinburgh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.