Kilmany

I was out for a wander tonight and as I reached the top of the hill the sun began to break through the clouds and lit up the little village of Kilmany. Kilmany was my first home in Fife. After 3 years of studying in the bright lights of Dundee, I decided at the ripe old age of 20 that I had had enough of the bright lights of the city and headed out to Fife for my final year. I worked all summer and bought a wee purple mini and moved in with my pals Erica (the lawyer to be) and Pamela ( the accountant to be).

If you go large, you will see the village church and to the left of it (yes overlooking the graveyard - no problem with noisy neighbours) was the house we rented from the Rev W. His only stipulation was that we should attend church once a month! I think we made it there once in the year !

It was a great place to stay with plenty of room and a fine garden. However, the winter of 1981/1982 was particularly harsh and I think we had a good couple of weeks with no water as the pipes leading to the house were frozen underground!

Some great memories and I am not sure the Rev W would have approved of all of our goings on but we did all manage at some point to study and graduate in 1982! Oh my....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.