All things me

By KatiePie

Then and now...

I found the old picture on the left in the loft the other day and in my "upcycle everything because I'm skint now I'm not working" mode, I decided that I ought to reuse it.

Wasn't counting on it being professionally framed. Bah. More on that later..

Anyway. I ordered a print of the pic on the right. It's not perfect, but I like it as none of us are looking stunning if you know what I mean. I prefer it to us all trying to be posed but one of us being off..

So the original pic had a story because believe me, 12 years ago I was even less keen on being photographed.
I worked for a remortgaging company in a call centre. It was ace. They were very forward thinking.
When they moved premises and expanded, they had portraits of all the staff (with their favourite thing.. I'm a bookworm) professionally taken and framed to be hung around the walls. They went bust not that long afterwards.

I hadn't realised how professionally till I tried to take it apart today - blimey!! Tape and little pin things and allsorts.
There was swearing. And scraped knuckles.

Well, I got there in the end, and now that frame contains something I like.. Not just me, but me and my family, who mean the world to me. We live miles apart, so now I can
smile at our perfect, imperfect photo every day..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.