Another Apron Story

I have to tell you, I am a bit passionate about my aprons.  I have a fair collection of them and in most cases they have a story attached to them.  They're pretty easy to pack as a souvenir when you're travelling and on top of that they can be a conversation piece when you have visitors.

This one is very, very special.  I was flying back from a trip to Broome and the Kimberleys in Western Australia with a group of walking buddies.  While I was on the plane I read an article about Opera in the Outback in South Australia.  Dame Kiri TeKanawa would be performing after first singing in the same location in the Flinders Ranges in 1988.  I decided on the spot that I would go and said to my friends as we were leaving the airport.  "You can come if you like, but I am DEFINITELY going".  Well you know what happened, they all trotted along with me.

If you look at the short 2 minute video I managed to find on YouTube it will give you a sense of the atmosphere that night.  To start with we had to fly to South Australia, hire a mini bus and drive to the Flinders Rangers.  We arrived just in time to pitch our tents in a dedicated camp site, and light our camp fire and cook our dinner.  

The following day after a short tour of the area we all headed down the road, walking with hundred of other concert goers until we reach the entrance to the gorge.  It was one of the most exciting walks of my life.  Everyone was full of anticipation about what they were about to witness and believe me, we weren't disappointed.  As the sun set over the Flinders the Orchestra started to play and we hear the glorious voice of Dame Kiri resonating through the gorge.  It was spine tingling stuff and I feel very emotional just thinking about it 18 years later. 

It was a sad time for Dame Kiri as she had just received word from her husband that he wanted a divorce.  When she started to sing the song "All by Myself", there wasn't a dry eye in the house!!

The absolute highlight for me though was her rendition of "You'll Never Walk Alone".  This is my all-time favourite song and to hear Kiri TeKanawa sing it in that location is something I will never, never forget.  

So there you go, this is not just some ordinary little apron, because every time I wear it, it brings back such wonderful memories.

PS - CCN just had to pull out the tissues as I was reading my journal to her.  Not just for her but for me!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.