stuartjross

By stuartjross

City to City

Shortly before this wee tramp up Machine Gun Hill Caley and I were standing at the Roy Bridge railway station platform.
My brother and his partner K have been in Fort William staying at our parents for the last few days. I didn't get down to see them before they left but I was aware that the train stops briefly at our local station so I nipped down and had the briefest of chats with them at the carriage door. Overnight in the sleeper, they will wake up in London.
Another three hours by train takes them to Brussels and another three hours takes them to Frankfurt.
Following his illness K is still unable to fly and I think they have found the rail journey experience quite relaxing.

I don't think I mentioned previously but upon arrival in Fort William they announced their engagement to the family. I am very happy for them. K is such a kind caring girl and they share many interests. (Only by typing it here have I realised they share the same initial).

City to City is the title track from the famous Gerry Rafferty album and the song is about taking the night train to another city. In his song city to city was just 400 miles. Fort William to Frankfurt is much longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.