Nelson Cathedral Tower

I really struggle to think of what to blip when I'm in the city but while I was away with the photography group I was talking to someone about the Nelson Cathedral. So when I passed it last night it made me think of using it as a blip.  I already had a blip so I went back tonight.  The first time I found that I didn't have my tripod fitting and my battery was flat.

I went back after tea, with a charged battery and a fully equipped tripod.  But by then the rain was torrential and the wind was pushing my tripod over.  In the end I hid under a shop verandah with my umbrella over the camera and I.  It meant that I didn't get quite the angle I'd intended but this one makes it look appropriately spooky.

Construction began on this cathedral in the 1920's but it wasn't finished until the 1960's.  The marble for it was sourced from the Pakikiruna Range, near Takaka.  When construction started the marble was to be used in blocks but after the Murchison earthquake it was decided that it was too risky to use in blocks so the marble was ground down and mixed with plaster to give the unusual appearance and colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.