amberelli

By amberelli

London 2012 Olympics - Judo

WOW!

I actually went to the Olympics...what? I still can't get over it.

See it in LARGE and see if you can spot the headless man haha

So Sarah and Mike picked me up at 8am and we headed to the train station in Darlington to get the Grand Central. We got on the train and I sat next to a stinky woman for around 2 and a half hours until she got off :')

Once we got to London we got on the tube and headed to the ExCel.

I couldn't believe how many people from the Olympics were there all in London. We got the tube with athletes from all different countries (including those on the Lichtenstein Fencing team!)

When we got off at the ExCel there were thousands of people, yet no queues! It was brilliant. We got through security no bother and the airport style was made jolly with enthusiastic members of the Royal Marines.

We got in there and all around was people, thousands of them and on each side of the central coridoor was entrances to all of the different sports. We got to the Judo one and realised how many people there was waiting to get into the arena bit. Fromlooking at it there was probably around 2 thousand ish people there, yet we only waited in the queue for a couple of minutes before we got our tickets scanned and we could go in.

All the way through the competition I was taking photos but finally came to the decision that I would use this one as my Blip. I had action shots and photos of the medal ceremony but I thought you could get a look at the atmosphere...

Technology played a huge part in the entire day! The amount of tech all in one room was amazing. They had the lighting, the camera men and photographers, the big screens...everything.

The Internet, I think, is what has made the whole Olympics as successful as it is! Both our train tickets and our Olympic tickets were bought online. The Games have been available online for everone at home. The Torch Relay has been made more popular and that too was something we could sit and watch online. I was able to post all of my photos on the Internet from both the Torch Relay and the Judo. Without the Internet, we'd have no Facebook, no Twitter, NO BLIPFOTO! I'd not be posting entries into this competition either! We all should be very greatful for the Internet and how this man's invention has revolutionised the modern world! (He even got a part about him during the Olympic Ceremony!)

It was amazing and a day i'll NEVER forget!

Thanks you Sarah and Mike! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.