In the red

It was a bit wet earlier on, so when it had dried off I set off to do some begging round the shops for prizes for the SWT Summer Fair next month. It immediately began to rain, so I came back.

Later the sun came out so I went out to take the cats for a walk, but one stayed at home, wisely as it happened, as it began to rain again before very long. When we got back she'd gone out! So I haven't been far today and had to find a Blip at home.

So this is a lovely red form of Primula florindae which I bought the other day.  I could have grown it from seed, but I didn't want to wait for a few years to see it flower and even then the colour isn't guaranteed - it's best to buy one in flower and choose the colour you prefer.

Primula florindae is a native of SE Tibet and was first introduced to this country by Frank Kingdon Ward in 1924 and named after his wife Florinda. Good job she wasn't named Agatha! It's an an easy plant to grow, given reasonable moisture, and a good perennial. It will even grow in shallow water and survived at Arduaine completely submerged for a year of two, but eventually gave up the ghost. Usually pale yellow in flower it has a wonderful fragrance, smelling of . . . . . primulas, I suppose!

You see a bronzey strain of this plant for sale, but the real red is better, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.