Le Gouffre

"You want what?"

Can you imagine the conversation with the Planning Department when someone had the bright idea for this house? It's wedged between two huge rocks with its back to the sea and a mud puddle in front. It looks to me as if someone's photoshopped it in there but it's there on the beach on the northernmost point of Brittany.

It's the last day of my trip today and I woke up to rain, quite heavy rain and it kept going a while. I decided to pack up the van and go touring to see the northern part of the Cote de Granit Rose. I knew there were some spectacular features on the coast around Perros-Guirrec. it was also an opportunity to go to a supermarche and get some wine and cheese to take home. I believed this house to be at Porz Hir so headed there and parked up (I love France with its free parking at beauty spots). I went to the little port there and took some photos and then walked around the headland seeing some beautiful rocky bays and islets and decided I wasn't where I wanted to be. I saw a guy taking photos so I accosted him and tried to describe what I cherched. He answered in English, as being a Belgian he was quite fluent. He told me and showed me on his map exactly where I needed to be.

I went back to the van and had some lunch and then set off the mile and a half to Le Gouffre (I must have been nearly there on my earlier walk) and parked up in another lovely free car park.

I hope you like the pictures, there are a couple of extras today.

PS I must thank Farishta because it was on her journal that I first saw this house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.