Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Disappearing Glaciers

I last visited the Fox Glacier in winter 1997. From where the kids were standing today, it was only a short stroll to reach the face or snout of the glacier. Back then, David and I were so impressed to actually walk on the glacier and I was really excited to share the experience with my children.
Problem: the glacier had retreated more than 1.5 km in the last 20 years. The path to reach a safe viewing point 400m from the glacier itself takes an hour to complete. Yesterday's extreme weather and heavy rain had resulted in a swollen river and land slides, so the path was closed. I even had a rush of blood to the head and asked about helicopter flights (which is now the ONLY way to access the glacier) but high winds and more bad weather on the way stopped that rash idea.

It is funny how things change, yet stay the same. We accidentally sat in the same cafe and suddenly I could remember my husband, warming himself by the stove, all full of anticipation to walk on the ice with crampons fitted to his boots. These memories will continue to catch me unawares, and I fear, to trip me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.