Swarm!

They are back! I heard an immense buzzing and looking out there they were like a big black cloud! Every year the swarm settles in the garden opposite me whilst the scouts go out to look for a suitable place to make their new home. Usually they settle in a bush or the yucca tree, but this year I watched them swarm round the chimney and then eventually the majority disappeared  inside it! I did my usual grabbing and flinging of Tilly and this year Polly into the house then shut all the doors and windows to prevent the bees  thinking my place would make a good nesting area! Then I grabbed my camera and went out in the garden to photograph them, then up into the attic! Whilst in the attic I spotted my builder neighbour and called out to him! We had a good shouting conversation about the bees for a while! 
I had been having a tidying/washing/cleaning morning intending to go up to the plot later - but I didn't want to miss them zooming off! Well this year they are obviously being fussy as they were still there in the chimney as it turned dusk! 
There are a few more here but I did whittle them down from 150 to 23!! 
At last I have a Wild Wednesday blip for Cailleach!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.