Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Last Borders, Please...

It's Rosie's birthday today, so it had to be the last day of my (Annie's) 10-country trip home from Switzerland. I woke up in a mixture of countries 7 and 8, in Baarle-Nassau, as described yesterday. The blip is a picture of me straddling just one of the Belgium / Netherlands borders that dissect this crazy place.

The last trip through Belgium to France (country 9) turned gradually wetter and greyer - so I knew I must be nearing home! I was very proud to have a lengthy conversation with a lady in a Boulangerie in French, without her lapsing immediately into English.

A journey back on the fun Eurotunnel and I was back in country 10 - the UK. I struggled with driving on the left after so long on the right.

Summary of trip: 14 days, 10 countries, 2,500 miles, 2 passport stamps, 9 Alpine Passes, 1 goat bite, 1 world's highest station, 1 world's steepest cog railway, 4 cable cars (one of which is a world's only open top cable car), 1.2km of summer toboggan, temperature range from 2-30 degrees and 8 happy people.

No anticlimax for my return home, as the girls were here and we celebrated Rosie's birthday with her. Happy birthday Rosie, 11 today!

Apologies for the lack of comments and replies over the last couple of weeks - we're home now so have time to catch up. Apologies also to our lovely new subscribers we've picked up recently - I'm afraid it returns to our dull old local shots and work again tomorrow... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.