get on with it

8:30pm and in the dining room. With an electric piano.

That's not a normal thing.

I took piano lessons for three, maybe four years (I'm sure my Mum will confirm...) and while I didn't practice enough, I did learn enough to help me get through the theory, reading and writing parts of my school and college music courses. Helped my get my head around how to play guitar too.

It's been a long-held thing to get my fingers used to playing piano again. Not for any major objective, but just to be able to play my way around a song or two if needed.

The first step was to work my fingers around some scales, arpeggios, chords. Then came the most important activity: to fullfil that long-suppressed ambition and figure out how to play the Star Wars Main Title theme. At least the melody line. In C. I reckon if my piano lessons had been more about Star Wars theme music when I was a boy then I might have ended up being as good as this guy.

Job done, a few more scales and packed up (the piano lives in it's original box in the garage).

Worked at home again today. Feeling a little better but still leaking a little.

Hopefully this too shall pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.