Sign-off Day

Did it happen; sign-off day? It was rather like this sunrise. Lots of beautiful colour and hints of the sun coming up, but because the cloud cover came over, it didn't quite appear,.

I'm really pleased with the work that has been done in the house, and the way it's been done. The quality control has been remarkable. The lack of power connection from the pole to the house has put the end on hold, until that connection can be done. I was told this morning that Telpower are going to do it earlier though, 'after-hours', next week. It's unfortunate and disappointing on one hand, but understandable on the other. I was down in the house this afternoon and was amazed to see my house being restored to a pre-earthquake state. Not long now!

I'm still able to start moving my belongings into the house and will be starting to do that tomorrow. On Monday and Tuesday the Removal Firm will be bringing the main lot of my possessions that have been in storage for 26 months. How exciting is that! I've thought of getting a generator, and still moving in, and living like we did for weeks after the quakes. Maybe!

The contractor & carpenter came and carried my mattress down the road this afternoon, back to the house. The move has really and truly started! How could I be sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.