ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Up-side-down.

Today Dad and I had to drive to York to pick up a mobility scooter - an easy task, you say. Hmmm, not really. We drove out to York (45 minutes), then drove AROUND York (an hour), found the shop and picked up the scooter (30 minutes), and drove home (45 minutes, plus a developing migrane). You'd think the shop would have some better 'how to get here' instructions. The scooter was for one of Mum's friends who is arriving on Monday. She suffers from a sore back and this will help her keep up with Mum while they're sightseeing (Mum would put Usain Bolt to shame sometimes).

Happily, when we got home Mum had laid out a fantastic spread for Dad and I; a pick and mix lunch of salad, marinaded tomatoes, olives, houmous, potato salad and cheese and biscuits. Yum!

Dad was a little wiped out after our York marathon, so Mum and I headed into town alone - well, what was going to happen? Of course, I have fallen in love with TWO lenses, and despite being very sensible and saying I'd 'sleep on it and come back tomorrow', I've already decided that they will be mine :) The first is a Tamron 10-24mm wide angle for my beloved landscapes, and a Canon 50mm fixed 1.8 aperture lens to develop my portrait-taking skills. Something I really want to get into.

Since I was away in Norway for Father's Day, I missed the opportunity to bake my Dad a cake, so I made his favourite today: pineapple upside-down cake. Yes, it's a bit of an uninspired Blip, but a) I'm quite proud of how the cake turned out, and b) I'm saving all my show-stopping Blips for the new camera. Well, hopefully. You can't spend £900+ on a camera and NOT take good shots, can you?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.