Feeling Good

I was definitely feeling good after performing a life saving excercise on this large white butterfly this morning which had been trapped in our conservatory overnight.

Standing  on a chair which I knew I really shouldn't have been, I managed to grab her from behind by the wings; (not a thing I would advise as it damages them) she didn't struggle, not moving when I opened my hand to let her fly away. She didn't - absolutely couldn't as she had nearly had her chips. Getting it to the lavender I put it's head in one of the little purple cups;  she struggled to get her proboscis in.....but managed briefly to do it for just for a split second. Trying again and again with different tiny lavender flowers to tempt her, she finally really made a huge effort that I felt through my fingers which was amazing and positively rammed herself in, sucked hard  and I knew it was going to be alright. 

It took ages to finally to urge her off my finger, for her to have the strength to clamber onto the stem but when she finally did mange it I ran noooo got upstairs as fast as I could for the camera.

Both her and me feeling good as this point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.