Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Tooting Bec Lido

All our 'official' Olympic events over with, in terms of attending free and ticketed sporting occasions (see my last three days' blip postings), I decided to get some proper sport of my own under my (expanding) belt. I made my second ever visit to the lovely Tooting Bec Lido in South London, a 100-yard long unheated outdoor swimming pool, built in 1906 and still going (a bit of a rarity in Britain these days). I had a lovely swim of about a kilometre. The water temperature was about 18 degrees Celsius and I swam most of that in my swimming wetsuit, although I was encouraged by our friend Jenny to remove it and finish my swim in just my triathlon suit, a very refreshing conclusion to the swim. Jenny writes a wonderful blog, Swimming Round London, where you can read her review of this fantastic Lido. The visit was concluded with a very satisfactory hot chocolate and a lovely chat. What could be better?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.