The Lord Mayor of Bradford....

A gathering this evening at Salts Mill for the launch of the Saltaire Festival which takes place in September, and I was lucky enough to be invited along.

The Lord Mayor of Bradford was there, Councillor Geoff Reid.  What a jolly chap and such a good sport too :)

He made such a moving speech... part of which I quote:

"This morning, speaking in Centenary Square (Bradford) at a hastily arranged vigil marking the atrocity which took place in Nice last night, I mentioned that the Lady Mayoress and I were coming here (Salts Mill) this evening.  I did so because our district is an established tourist destination, as is Nice, a world renowned location, as is this venue.

I said that spending a relaxing evening with others ought to be one of the safest ways of enjoying yourself, and this added to the horrific nature of the killings which took place on the Promenade des Anglais.  It is in this context that we remember the 84 dead, the hundreds injured, and those close to them"



I'm behind with comments... for a change... sigh.... please forgive me.. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.